Gesture Blog

Knowing your love language can help you keep a strong relationship with those around you. While knowing someone’s typical way of giving affection may seem like an easy task, it actually takes some digging to get the true meaning behind their words and actions—especially if they don’t realize that there are many different love languages out there! Understanding someones love language makes giving gifts so much easier for you. No matter the love language, Gesture has all of their gifting needs covered.

Let’s get into all of the love languages, and find out what love language they really have.

Words of Affirmation

Words of affirmation are literally just that. They are words that affirm the positive qualities in someone. No matter how well they are doing in life, this love language always wants confirmation that they matter. Words of affirmation are also helpful when they are feeling down and a pick me up is needed. Some examples of words of affirmation are, “you look beautiful,” “I love you,” or “you are amazing.” Overall, words of encouragement and appreciation make this individual feel secure..

Physical Touch

Some partner’s need to feel intimacy through touch. For some people if their partner doesn’t touch them, they feel like they did something wrong, or that their partner is being distant or cold. For this love language it is odd to picture a healthy relationship without touching one another at all. Some examples of physical touch are kissing, cuddling, hugging, sitting close, or holding hands. This individual gets excited when their partner makes a point to show love through physical gestures.

Acts of Service

This expression of love is predicated on doing something that you know your loved one would appreciate. For this love language, it makes them feel good knowing that someone cares enough about them to go out of their way to make them feel good. Acts of service can look different for everyone, it varies from partner to partner. However, an act of service could be making them their favorite meal, watering their plants, filling up their gas tank, or paying a bill before they get a chance to even look at it.

Quality Time

Quality time is when you feel the most loved when you and someone else spend uninterrupted time together. Gesture has exactly what you need to add quality to anyone’s time. Everyone’s definition of quality time differs. It can be just watching television with each other, playing a board game, or going for a walk together. However, the most important aspect about having quality time with a loved one is giving that person your undivided attention.

Receiving Gifts

If receiving gifts is what makes you feel the most appreciated then you’re in the right place. Sometimes this form of love is misconstrued as some people believe that people with this love language are shallow. This isn’t always true. For this person it is more than not, a way to let them realize that they were being thought about. A gift that anyone would love would be a bouquet of flowers, chocolate, and a bottle of whit wine, all available on the Gesture app!

The five love languages are universal, and can be applied to any relationship. They don’t necessarily have to do with your significant other, but it is important for you to know what their favorite way of showing affection towards others is so that they may receive more praise or attention in return from themselves!

Leave a Reply